November 29, 2023

One All Black and one Springbok nominated for World Rugby player of the year

One All Black and one Springbok nominated for World Rugby player of the year

The nominees for the World Rugby Men’s 15s Player of the Year have been announced, with the World Cup finalists the All Blacks and South Africa both having one nominee each.

No8 Ardie Savea has been nominated from the All Blacks, while lock Eben Etzebeth has made the list from the Springboks. The pair have been joined by Ireland’s Bundee Aki after a barnstorming World Cup and France captain Antoine Dupont who was named the Six Nations Player of the Championship earlier this year.

The winner will be announced on Sunday October 29, the day after the World Cup final.

World Rugby Chairman Sir Bill Beaumont said: “All those nominated today deserve not only our congratulations but also our thanks for everything they have contributed, on and off the field, to inspire fans and players worldwide, driving rugby forward in 2023 in line with our sport’s values.

“The strength of rugby is its players, coaches, officials and volunteers, and these shortlists provide a vivid snapshot of a sport that is thriving globally in its 200th year. One day after we crown the Rugby World Cup 2023 champions, we look forward once again to uniting our global family and presenting a wider cast of winners with the ultimate accolades in our sport – the World Rugby Awards.”

Here are the nominees for the other categories:

World Rugby Women’s Sevens Player of the Year

Michaela Blyde (New Zealand)

Maddison Levi (Australia)

Tyla Nathan-Wong (New Zealand)

Reapi Ulunisau (Fiji)

World Rugby Men’s Sevens Player of the Year

Leroy Carter (New Zealand)

Rodrigo Isgro (Argentina)

Marcos Moneta (Argentina)

Akuila Rokolisoa (New Zealand)

International Rugby Players Men’s Try of the Year

Duhan van der Merwe (Scotland, v England on 4 February)

Damian Penaud (France, v Ireland on 11 February)

Hugo Keenan (Ireland, France on 11 February)

Vinaya Habosi (Fiji, v Georgia on 1 October)

World Rugby Coach of the Year

Andy Farrell (Ireland)

Ian Foster (New Zealand)

Simon Raiwalui (Fiji)

Jacques Nienaber (South Africa)

World Rugby Men’s 15s Breakthrough Player of the Year

Louis Bielle-Biarrey (France)

Manie Libbok (South Africa)

Mark Tele’a (New Zealand)

Tamaiti Williams (New Zealand)

Fans around the world will be able to watch live and free on RugbyPass TV, where exclusive pre-show coverage will begin at 18:00 CET (GMT+1).

Would you like to receive notifications on latest updates? No Yes